Coming Soon: Blood of Dragons

Apr 9.Title: Blood of Dragons

Author: Robin Hobb

Series: Rain Wilds Chronicles #4

Genre: Fantasy

Release Date: April 9, 2013

I have to say this is one of the few books I’ll probably drop everything to read as soon as it comes out. As I’ve said before in my review of  Assassin’s Apprentice, Robin Hobb is my favorite go-to author when I need a guaranteed good read! The ending of one of her books is partially what inspired me to start this book blog, and I simply can’t praise her works enough! Her writing is effortless and beautiful, her characters are real and compelling, and her story-lines are totally fulfilling. If you like fantasy and haven’t read her yet, you are sorely missing out!


Book Review: Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

Title: Assassin’s Apprentice

Author: Robin Hobb

Series: The Farseer Trilogy #1

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 5/5 stars!

The Overview: In a faraway land where members of the royal family are named for the virtues they embody, one young boy will become a walking enigma. Born on the wrong side of the sheets, Fitz, son of Chivalry Farseer, is a royal bastard, cast out into the world, friendless and lonely. Only his magical link with animals – the old art known as the Wit – gives him solace and companionship. But the Wit, if used too often, is a perilous magic, and one abhorred by the nobility. So when Fitz is finally adopted into the royal household, he must give up his old ways and embrace a new life of weaponry, scribing, courtly manners; and how to kill a man secretly, as he trains to become a royal assassin.

The Review:

Some stories fade from my memory the minute I finish the book. This story not only remained vividly in my mind months later, but I find I can recall tiniest details with minimal effort. That, to me, is the mark of a great book. Hobb has a unique writing style in the fantasy world, using a beautiful descriptive voice that effectively draws you into the story without being overwhelming. You can read two pages or fifty and come away feeling invested and satisfied. Her books are so evoking that she has become my go-to author whenever I need a guaranteed good read.

The characters are well-developed, relatable, dynamic, and quite simiply: brilliant. I often forget that I’m reading fantasy characters, as they sometimes seem like real people. Because of this, some of them are among my all-time favorites. Apart from being so well-developed, what I love most is they have flaws like everyone else, which make you cheer for them all the more.

Overall, “Assassin’s Apprentice” contains a highly memorable plot, exceptional characters, and the beautiful writing style that combines in a story that will take your breath away.

Recommendations: The Farseer trilogy is chronologically the first of four separate trilogies (Farseer, Liveship Traders, Tawny Man, and Rain Wilds – in that order) Each book is as good as the last, and what you take away from each novel just lends to an incredible momentum as the story progresses. Within each trilogy, there is an overall arch to the story that is highly satisfying enough to make them stand-alones, but the overall arch between all the books is so fantastic that it’s well worth your time to read them all.

Other books you might like:

by Niki Hawkes